## CHAPTER 5 VOTING PRECINCTS TITLE I - ORGANIZATION & STRUCTURE

TITLE. An ordinance establishing the voting precincts in the County of Jones, Iowa.

PURPOSE. The purpose of this ordinance is to establish voting precincts in the County of Jones, Iowa, as required by Chapters 49 and 331 of the Code of Iowa (2021). Voting precincts in the cities of Anamosa, Iowa, and Monticello, Iowa, have previously been established and described by ordinance of the respective city councils, and are hereby included in this ordinance by reference.

## SECTION 1. VOTING PRECINCTS

Jones County shall have fourteen (14) voting precincts as follows:

Anamosa North/Cass: Anamosa North city voting precinct as established by the City of Anamosa per Ordinance No. 952, Cass Township and part of Fairview Township lying east of Holt St./Old Cass Rd. and north and west of Knoll St./205th Ave., and including a parcel southeast of, but adjacent to, the corner of Knoll St./205th Ave. where Knoll St./205th Ave. turns northerly (includes census blocks 1008 and 1009). 2020 population 3,400

Anamosa South/Jackson: Anamosa South city voting precinct as established by the City of Anamosa per Ordinance No. 952, Jackson Township, and part of Fairview Township lying north of Iowa Highway 64 and east of Old Dubuque Rd. extended northerly to the Fairview township line (includes census blocks of 1007, 1011, 1019, 1020, 1023,1125, 1127, and 2000). 2020 population 3,168

<u>Castle Grove/Lovell/Wayne</u>: Castle Grove Township, Lovell Township, and Wayne Township. 2020 population 2,056

**Fairview:** All of that part of Fairview Township lying west and south of a line described as beginning at the northwest Anamosa corporate boundary intersecting the north township line lying west of Holt St.; thence following corporate boundary in a counterclockwise position until its intersection with the east township. 2020 population 2,001

**Greenfield:** The city of Martelle and Greenfield Township. 2020 population 684

<u>Monticello 1</u>: Monticello First Ward city voting precinct as established by the City of Monticello per Ordinance No. 751. 2020 Population 1,009

Monticello 2: Monticello Second Ward city voting precinct as established by the City of Monticello per Ordinance No. 751. 2020 Population 1,009

Monticello 3: Monticello Third Ward city voting precinct as established by the City of Monticello per Ordinance No. 751. 2020 Population 1,011

Monticello 4: Monticello Fourth Ward city voting precinct as established by the City of Monticello per Ordinance No. 751. 2020 Population 1,011

Oxford: The city of Oxford Junction and Oxford Township. 2020 population 636

Richland/Washington: The city of Cascade, Richland Township, and
Washington Township. 2020 population 1,223

Rome/Hale: The city of Morley, the city of Olin, Hale Township and Rome
Township. 2020 population 1,423

Scotch Grove/Madison/Clay: The city of Onslow, Clay Township, Madison Township, and Scotch Grove Township. 2020 population 1,239

Wyoming: The city of Wyoming and Wyoming Township. 2020 population 776

SECTION 2. TEMPORARY MERGERS OR DIVISIONS OF ELECTION PRECINCTS Temporary mergers or divisions of election precincts may be made for elections in Jones County as allowed by the Code of Iowa.

SECTION 3.  $\underline{\text{EFFECTIVE DATE}}$  This ordinance shall be in effect on January 15, 2022.

SECTION 4. REPEALER. All Ordinances and parts thereof in conflict herewith are hereby repealed.

Adopted December 14, 2021

Published December 29 and 30, 2021