The Jones County Board of Supervisors met in regular session. Present Supervisors Zirkelbach, Oswald, Rohwedder, Schlarmann, and Swisher.

Moved by Rohwedder seconded by Schlarmann to approve the minutes of the December 19, 2023, December 21, 2023, and December 22, 2023 meetings. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Oswald seconded by Schlarmann to approve claims #2401-0001 through #2401-0121. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Zirkelbach seconded by Oswald to appoint Supervisor Rohwedder as Chairman and Supervisor Schlarmann as Vice-Chairman of the Jones County Board of Supervisors for calendar year 2024 and until their successors are appointed. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Swisher seconded by Oswald to appoint the Jones County Supervisors to the following committees. All aye. Motion carried.

#### JEFF SWISHER

Jones County 911 Service Board

Jones County Emergency Management Agency

Jones County Integrated Roadside Vegetation

Management Committee

Jones County Resource Enhancement and Protection (R.E.A.P.)

Jones County Solid Waste Commission

Jones County Courthouse & Public Building

Security Committee

Resource Conservation & Development Commission (R.C. & D.)

## NED ROHWEDDER - CHAIRMAN

Jones County Emergency Medical Services Assn.

Jones County Mental Health Advisory Board

Jones County Solid Waste Commission

Jones County Tourism Association

Abbe Mental Health Center

Cedar/Jones Early Childhood Iowa Board

Federal Emergency Management Association

(F.E.M.A.)

H.A.C.A.P. - District

Heritage Agency on Aging Task Force

MH/DS of the East Central Region Board

#### JOE OSWALD

Advancement Services of Jones County D.H.S. Service Area Advisory Board Maquoketa River Watershed Authority Sixth Judicial District Dept. of Corrections Workforce Development Eastern Iowa Regional Utility Service System (E.I.R.U.S.S.)

#### JON ZIRKELBACH

Jones County Integrated Roadside Vegetation

Management Committee

Jones County Wapsipinicon Trail Committee

Area Substance Abuse Council

East Central Iowa Council of Governments

(E.C.I.C.O.G.)

East Central Iowa Housing Fund

Region 10 Transportation Policy Committee

Jones County Economic Development

Commission

Jones County Safe & Healthy Youth Coalition

## JOHN SCHLARMANN – VICE CHAIRMAN

Jones County Board of Health

Jones County Decategorization/CPPC

Jones County Fair Board

Jones County G.I.S. Committee

Jones County Safety Committee

Heritage Agency on Aging

### Further, each Jones County Supervisor is appointed as an alternate to the following boards and commissions if they are not designated above as a primary appointee:

Jones County 911 Service Board

Jones County Board of Health

Jones County Economic Development Commission

Jones County Emergency Management Agency

Jones County Fair Board

Jones County Integrated Roadside Management

Committee

Jones County Mental Health Advisory Board

Jones County Safety Committee

Jones County Solid Waste Commission

Abbe Mental Health Center

Area Substance Abuse Council (A.S.A.C.)

East Central Iowa Council of Governments

(E.C.I.C.O.G.)

Eastern Iowa Regional Utility Service System
(E.I.R.U.S.S.)
H.A.C.A.P. – District
MH/DS of the East Central Region Board
Region 10 Transportation Policy Committee
Resource Conservation & Development Commission
(R.C. & D.)
Sixth Judicial District Dept. of Corrections

Moved by Oswald seconded by Schlarmann to appoint the Anamosa Journal-Eureka and Monticello Express as the official Jones County newspapers for county legal publications for the 2024 calendar year. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Swisher seconded by Schlarmann to appoint Dr. Michael Weston, Anamosa, as Medical Examiner, Kevin Weber, Anamosa, as Medical Examiner Investigator, Victoria Weston, Anamosa, as Medical Examiner Investigator, Brandon Kent, Anamosa, as Medical Examiner Investigator, and Alesha Weber, Anamosa, as Medical Examiner Investigator for calendar year 2024. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Zirkelbach seconded by Schlarmann to table the appointment of representatives to the East Central Iowa Council of Governments, including Region 10 Transportation Committees. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Oswald seconded by Schlarmann to not appoint anyone to the Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Authority Board. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Zirkelbach seconded by Swisher to appoint Wes Gibbs as Weed Commissioner for calendar year 2024. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Schlarmann seconded by Swisher to table the appointment of three members to the Pioneer Cemetery Commission. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Oswald seconded by Schlarmann to table the appointment of three members to the Historic Preservation Committee. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Swisher seconded by Oswald to appoint Dennis Coon and Debra Oldham to the Jones County Board of Health for a three-year term expiring December 31, 2026. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Schlarmann seconded by Zirkelbach to table the appointment of the County Compensation Commission for Eminent Domain Proceedings. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Zirkelbach seconded by Swisher to approve an update to the County's Title VI Non-Discrimination Agreement with the Iowa Department of Transportation reflecting an update to the named Board Chairman. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Zirkelbach seconded by Oswald to re-appoint John Slater to the Olin Benefited Fire District Board for a three-year term. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Zirkelbach seconded by Swisher to appoint Ryan Wiedenhoff to fill a vacancy on the Olin Benefited Fire District Board. All aye Motion carried.

The Community Services Director met with the Board to give a department update and discuss hiring a Community Services Assistant position.

The Auditor met with the Board for approval of the various items as noted in the motions below, to discuss the FY25 budget calendar, and to give an update on the

# ARCA Search scanning project.

Moved by Oswald seconded by Zirkelbach to place on file the recommendations as stated below from the Jones County Compensation Board for salaries for the elected officials for fiscal year 2025. All aye. Motion carried.

COUNTY RECOMMENDED
OFFICIAL INCREASE
Attorney 7%
Sheriff 7%
Auditor 7%
Treasurer 7%
Recorder 7%
Supervisors 7%

Moved by Swisher seconded by Oswald to deny a wage increase for the Senior Dining Director. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Zirkelbach seconded by Swisher to adopt the following schedule for holidays to be observed by county employees during calendar year 2024:

New Year's Day 2024 Monday, January 1, 2024
President's Day Monday, February 19, 2024
Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2024
Independence Day Thursday, July 4, 2024

Labor Day Monday, September 2, 2024 Veteran's Day Monday, November 11, 2024 Thanksgiving Holiday Thursday, November 28, 2024 and

Friday, November 29, 2024

Christmas Holiday Tuesday, December 24, 2024 and

Wednesday, December 25, 2024

New Year's Day 2025 Wednesday, January 1, 2025

### All aye. Motion carried.

The Engineer met with the Board to approve a Temporary Easement Contract, to request additional funding for rock, and to give a general update.

Moved by Swisher seconded by Zirkelbach to approve a Temporary Easement Contract with Barbara Kos & James Kos on 215<sup>th</sup> Ave. All aye. Motion carried. [2024-001]

The Board gave brief reports on past and future committee meetings.

Moved by Schlarmann seconded by Swisher to adjourn the meeting at 10:27 a.m. All aye. Motion carried.

Attest: Whitney Hein, Auditor

Ned Rohwedder, Chairman