
ADVANCE FEES FOR CIVIL PAPER SERVICE 
EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2017 

 
Standard Advance Fee for all Civil Services: $30.50 + mileage. 
 

 MORE THAN 1 PERSON @ SAME ADDRESS: ORIGINAL FEE + $20.00 PER 
EACH ADDITIONAL PERSON TO BE SERVED 

 MORE THAN 1 PERSON @ DIFFERENT ADDRESSES: ORIGINAL FEE PER 
EACH ADDRESS 

 MORE THAN 1 COUNT: ORIGINAL FEE PER EACH COUNT 
 
WRIT OF POSSESSION: If the Sheriff’s Office posts the 2-day courtesy notice and the landlord recalls the 
Writ of Possession, there will be a $30.50 processing fee plus 
mileage. 
 
GARNISHMENTS: 

・ The actual fees for service are added to the amount of the judgment to be garnished. The Sheriff’s fees will 
be deducted from the first receipt of garnished funds from the employer. 

・ If you have the Sheriff garnish a bank, most banks require (besides the defendant’s name) another identifier 
such as a social security number or an account number. If you do not have an additional identifier, the Sheriff 
will still serve the garnishment, but your chances of receiving any funds on the garnishment are reduced 
dramatically. 

・ In Iowa, garnishments expire in 120 days. After expiration, any funds received will be sent to the appropriate 
Clerk of Court. Federal and State laws determine the maximum amount, if any, which can be garnished from a 
defendant’s paycheck and annually. 
 
PLEASE NOTE: 

・ Pursuant to the Iowa Court Rules (Rules of Civil Procedure), after serving a document with a court case 
number, the Return of Service will be electronically filed with the issuing Clerk of Court unless requested to do 
differently. If no court case number is indicated, the Return of Service will be sent to the person or firm who 
requested the service. 

・ Before the Jones County Sheriff’s Office will serve any civil process, Directions to the Sheriff and the 
required advance fees must be received along with the documents you want served. You must also give the 
office the last known address of the defendant and any attorney of record per Iowa Code, as the Sheriff Office is 
required to give them notice by restricted certified mail and regular mail, once the garnishment has been served.  
 
Attorneys and Financial Institution in Iowa can be billed, however documents will not be returned to the Clerk’s 
Office until Sheriff’s fees are paid. A printable copy of the Directions to the Sheriff is available on this website. 
 
The Jones County Sheriff’s Office cannot give legal advice. 
 


