Sunny · 75°

Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors meets weekly on Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Room on the first floor of the Courthouse. Agenda notices are typically issued on Friday afternoons. Contact the Auditor's Office at (319) 462-2282 to request to be added to the agenda e-mail list or to be placed on the Board's agenda. If you are requesting an action item for the agenda, please be prepared to submit any applicable documents to the Auditor 24 hours prior to the meeting. Changes to the agenda may be made with 24 hours advance notice.

Board Members

Ned Rohwedder
Chairman District 4
(319) 509-2693
Term Expires: 2026
Representative Appointments
John Schlarmann
Vice-Chairman - District 1
(319) 480-0694
Term Expires: 2024
Representative Appointments
Jeff Swisher
Board Member - District 5
Term Expires: 2024
Representative Appointments
Joe Oswald
Board Member District 2
(319) 480-5255
Term Expires: 2024
Representative Appointments
Jon Zirkelbach
Board Member District 3
(319) 480-9550
Term Expires: 2026
Representative Appointments


Duties of the Board of Supervisors

The functions of the board of supervisors are varied and its authority embraces practically every aspect of county government. Although these functions are primarily administrative in nature, the board exercises powers and characteristics of each of the three branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial. For example, the board fills vacancies in county offices by appointing successors, fixes rules relating to the use of county buildings and grounds and determines the disposition of claims against the county. The board acts as a general business manager for county government, plays a major role in matters of county taxation and finance, and is the governmental authority responsible for the construction and maintenance of the county road system. In some areas the duties of the board are nominal, while in others they are extensive.

For more information, see the Manual for County Supervisors of Iowa from the Iowa State Association of Counties.

(319) 462-2282

Jones County Courthouse
500 W. Main St.
Board Room
Anamosa, IA 52205