County Attorney Payment Plans
Participation in a payment plan with the County Attorney's Office may allow you to obtain your driver's license back, register your vehicles, and/or renew your license plates.
For Tags/Registration, you will need a letter from our office to take with you every year, as long as you owe the State of Iowa money. You must be current on your payments to receive this letter.
If your driver’s license is suspended, we will check with the DOT to see what is holding your license. If you owe any civil penalties, you may have to make payments to the Department of Transportation (DOT).
All unpaid/delinquent fines must be at least thirty-one (31) days past due and over $300 to qualify for a CAPP (license reinstatement) payment plan.
The County Attorney’s Office does not accept payments. You are required to pay at the Clerk of Court (in person or online/ (319) 462-4341) and to notify the Clerk that you are making a payment on a County Attorney Payment Plan to make certain the payment is credited toward your plan. It is your responsibility to let the Clerk know which cases you are paying on.
To participate in a County Attorney Payment Plan (CAPP), you will submit an online application and receive all communication by email. You may not submit a paper application.
You will not be eligible for the license reinstatement program if any of the following criteria apply:
- If your license is suspended for non-payment of child support
- If your license is suspended for out-of-state tickets
- If you have failed to complete a substance abuse evaluation (if required by the DOT)
- If you have failed to obtain an Ignition Interlock device (if required by the DOT)
- If you have failed to complete the Drinking and Driving Class (if required by the DOT)
About fourteen days after you sign the plan(s) and it is approved, you should be able to get your driver’s license. Upon approval, you would be eligible to renew your vehicle registration with a letter from our office.
You will make all of your payments to the Clerk of Court (in person or online) and/or the Iowa Department of Transportation.
Your first payment is 20% of the total amount owed. If you are currently on a payment plan, you must be current on all payments before the registration hold will be lifted. If you are trying to obtain a driver’s license in another state and you wish to be on the driver’s license reinstatement payment plan, you will be required to pay fifty (50) percent of your total delinquent fines as your first payment. You will be required to make an initial payment within 48 hours of submitting your CAPP application.
If you have any DOT Civil and/or Small Claims judgments, as a result of an auto accident, the County Attorney Payment Plan will only help you lift the suspensions for delinquent fines.
If you have any DOT Civil penalties due to a charge of (1) operating a vehicle while intoxicated, or (2) failing to obtain/maintain financial liability coverage (auto insurance), you may need to pay that civil penalty directly to the DOT.
County Attorney Payment Plan Application
Resources & ServicesAbout the Attorney County Attorney Payment Plans Fines Victim Registration Department Home
Map · Jones County Attorney
500 W. Main St. · Anamosa, IA 52205