Clear · 50°

Board of Health

The Jones County Board of Health (BOH) consists of five members of the community appointed by the Board of Supervisors. The BOH is responsible for safeguarding the community’s health and has jurisdiction over public health matters in the county.

Board of Health Members

Jane Ortgies - Chair

Dennis Coon- Vice Chair

Dr. Kirk Kilburg

Dr. Deb Oldham

John Schlarmann - County Supervisor


FY22 Board of Health Meetings:

  • August 31, 2021 (Special Meeting, 7PM) - Agenda
  • August 24, 2021 (Special Meeting, 7:30 PM) - Agenda
  • July 16, 2021 - Agenda
  • September 10, 2021
  • November 12, 2021
  • January 14, 2022
  • March 11, 2022
  • May 13, 2022

Position Statements

The Jones County Board of Health supports community water fluoridation to help prevent tooth decay.  Read their position statement. For more information on water fluoridation, visit the CDC or the American Fluoridation Society.

The Jones County Board of Health supports funding for the Natural Resource and Outdoor Recreation Trust Fund. Read their statement. 

Map · Jones County Public Health

105 Broadway Pl. · Anamosa, IA 52205